Library and Archives Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Institutional links

International Standard Numbers (ISNs)

Previous | Table of Contents | Next

ISBN Frequently Asked Questions


1.  What is an ISBN?
An ISBN (International Standard Book Number) is a 13-digit number that uniquely identifies each specific edition of a book or book-like product. This 13-digit number is divided into five parts of variable length; each part is separated by a hyphen or a space.

The five parts of an ISBN, in order, are:

  • the EAN (European article number) product code: the first three digits of the EAN bar code number;
  • the group identifier: a single digit following the EAN product code that specifies the country or language in which the book is published;
  • the publisher prefix: a number that identifies a particular publisher within the preceding group;
  • the title identifier: a number that identifies a particular title or edition of a title issued by the preceding publisher;
  • the check digit: a single digit at the end of the ISBN that validates the accuracy of the ISBN.

2.  What is ISBN-13?
Effective January 1, 2007 the ISBN will change from 10 digits to 13 digits. ISBN-13 will be the exclusive ISBN to be used on books and book-related products after this date. Note: The letters ISBN always precede the number.

Example 1
Old 10-digit ISBN and barcode
The 10-digit ISBN with a barcode is shown below. The EAN barcode number, at the bottom of the machine-readable stripes, is different from the 10-digit ISBN, placed above the barcode.

Old 10-digit ISBN and barcode

Example 2
New 13-digit ISBN and barcode
In the 13-digit ISBN, the EAN product code "978" precedes the 10-digit ISBN and the check digit (or final number) is recalculated. The new ISBN is the same number as the EAN/UCC barcode number which appears at the bottom of the barcode with hyphens.

New 13-digit ISBN and barcode

3.  Does the 13-digit ISBN require a longer barcode?
No. The 13-digit ISBN requires a 13-digit barcode (with or without the five-digit price code add-on) just like the 10-digit ISBN. With the new ISBN, both the ISBN-13 and the EAN/UCC numbers are identical. The EAN appears beneath the barcode, while the 13-digit ISBN has hyphens and is displayed above the barcode.

4.  Can I use both the 10-digit and 13-digit ISBN on a publication?
Yes, this practice is called dual numbering. Between January, 2005 and December 31, 2006, publishers may use both numbers on their publications. However, after January 1, 2007, publications should ONLY carry the 13- digit ISBN and EAN/UCC-13.

During the transition:

  • For books with a 10-digit ISBN & EAN barcode:,
    Print both ISBN on the Copyright Page only.

  • For books without a barcode:
    Print both ISBN on the Copyright Page and on the back cover of the book.

  • Dual numbering is valid only for ISBN-13s that begin with '978'. It should be phased out beginning on January 1, 2007.

International ISBN Agency's recommended format:

Example 3
Dual numbering system format
ISBN-13: 978-1-55457-001-0
ISBN-10: 1-55457-001-8

5.  Will the EAN prefix always remain '978'?
No. The EAN prefix 978 will change in future. When that happens, ISBN will have the prefix EAN '979'. ISBN which begin with '979' cannot be produced by a converter ( i.e. by adding the prefix to a 10-digit ISBN and recalculating the check digit). These ISBN cannot be converted to a 10-digit ISBN.

This change will not affect you immediately. Please visit Library and Archives website in 2007 for '979' EAN updates.

6.  Who is affected by this change?
Everyone in the book trade supply chain. While publishers, distributors, retailers, and libraries are the main groups affected by these changes, everyone in the book trade supply chain who currently uses an ISBN is affected by this change. Everyone who records, stores or exchanges ISBN data in an automated system or manual system will have to ensure that those systems can accommodate the 13-digit ISBN format.

7.  What is affected?
Every system, manual and electronic, that accepts an ISBN. All organizations that use the ISBN, in any capacity, should review their existing systems - manual and electronic - as soon as possible to ensure that those systems can accommodate the new 13-digit ISBN.

The 13-digit will affect software applications such as automated ordering systems, inventory control systems, point-of-sale systems, and library databases. If you're using a turnkey system, you should contact the vendor to ensure they are prepared for the 13-digit ISBN. If you're using a system that was developed or customized in-house, you should inform your IT staff that the ISBN will be changing to a new 13-digit format and ask them to check and make changes to your automated system. Systems will need to accept two different EAN prefixes over time (978 beginning in 2007 and in the future, 979).

While the change primarily affects computer and other automated systems, it may also affect editorial processes, sales and marketing, design and production departments, royalty and accounting functions, and catalogue systems. Organizations making system changes to handle ISBN-13 are encouraged to anticipate the future need to accommodate (store, view, and exchange) any of the EAN-UCC product identifiers which can be up to 14 digits long.

Booksellers will need to review:

  • ordering systems;
  • stock control;
  • point of sale systems;
  • accounting.

Libraries will need to review:

  • acquisitions systems, including transaction messages with trading partners;
  • cataloguing and other bibliographic data entry systems;
  • Inter-Library Loan (ILL) systems;
  • system routines for importing bibliographic records, including matching algorithms;
  • barcode scanners;
  • local catalogues/OPACs;
  • information portal / metasearch systems;
  • interoperability and system links with remote information sources and clients.

8.  How can publishers prepare?
All publishers should review and undertake the steps listed above, as soon as possible.

Publishers should also review the following, among others:

  • ISBN request and allocation functions;
  • product information records;
  • editorial management;
  • Cataloguing-in-Publication submissions;
  • production systems;
  • e-book supply systems;
  • order fulfillment;
  • warehouse management and inventory control systems;
  • rights and contracts;
  • royalty and accounting systems.

9.  Will new ISBN have to be assigned to products that have already been published?
No. Publishers should convert existing ISBN from the 10-digit format to the 13-digit format (prefixed by 978) by 1 January 2007. This applies to their records for any title for which commercial transactions may occur and should therefore include out of print titles as well as those currently in a publisher's catalogue.

The ISBN and bar code on books will not need to be changed until the book is reprinted as the bar code already represents the EAN13 which is identical to the new 13-digit ISBN.

10.  Where do publishers obtain the new 13-digit ISBN?
Canadian publishers (excluding French language publishers located in Quebec or outside of Quebec) can obtain an ISBN from the Canadian ISBN Agency, Library and Archives Canada. French language publishers located in Quebec or outside of Quebec can obtain an ISBN from Bibliothèque et Archives nationales du Québec.

Publishing and Depository Services (Public Works and Government Services Canada) has delegated authority to assign ISBNs to publications produced by Canadian government organizations. Applications for ISBNs may be submitted online by departmental publishing staff at: http://publications.gc.ca/site/eng/home.html

  • Registered Publishers with 10 ISBN
    After January 1, 2007, registered publishers with 10 ISBN will receive 13-digit ISBN from the Canadian ISBN Agency.
  • Registered Publishers with 100 or more ISBN
    Registered publishers who have been assigned 100 or more ISBN numbers, and have been sent a paper or electronic logbook of ISBN numbers from the Canadian ISBN Agency, must convert their remaining 10-digit ISBN to 13-digit ISBN that begin with '978' using an online converter. Please visit the International ISBN site,
    www.isbn-international.org/converter/converter.html.
  • New Publishers
    Starting on January 1, 2007, all new publishers who request a block of ISBN from the Canadian ISBN Agency will receive 13-digit ISBN.

11.  How has Library and Archives Canada prepared for
ISBN-13?

Library and Archives Canada and the Canadian ISBN Agency is informing all Canadian publishers of this important change. In addition, we have upgraded all catalogue and information technology systems to handle both the 10-digit and 13-digit ISBN. These changes will minimize difficulties in accepting and cataloguing publications with 13-digit ISBN.

Previous | Table of Contents | Next

Bibliothèque et Archives Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Liens institutionnels

Numéros international normalisé (ISNs)

Précédent | Table des matières | Suivant

ISBN Foire aux questions


1.  Qu'est-ce qu'un ISBN?
Un ISBN (numéro international normalisé du livre) est un numéro à 13 chiffres qui identifie de façon unique chaque édition particulière d'un livre ou d'un produit similaire. Ce numéro à 13 chiffres est divisé en cinq parties de longueur variable, lesquelles sont séparées par un trait d'union ou un espace.

Voici, dans l'ordre, les cinq parties d'un ISBN :

  • le code de produit EAN : ce sont les trois premiers chiffres du code à barres EAN;
  • l'identificateur de groupe : il s'agit du premier chiffre, placé après le code de produit EAN, qui indique dans quel pays ou en quelle langue l'ouvrage a été publié;
  • le préfixe de l'éditeur : c'est le numéro qui identifie un éditeur particulier au sein du pays indiqué par l'identificateur de groupe;
  • l'identificateur de titre : c'est le numéro qui identifie le titre ou l'édition particulière d'un titre publié par l'éditeur précité;
  • le chiffre de contrôle : il s'agit d'un chiffre unique à la fin de l'ISBN qui authentifie l'exactitude de l'ISBN.

2.  Qu'est-ce que ISBN-13?
Depuis le 1er janvier 2007, l'ISBN a passé de 10 chiffres à 13 chiffres. ISBN-13 est maintenant l'ISBN exclusif utilisé sur les livres et les publications imprimés. Remarque : les lettres ISBN précèdent toujours le chiffre. ISBN-13 sera l'ISBN exclusif à utiliser sur les livres et les publications imprimés après cette date. Remarque : les lettres ISBN précèdent toujours le chiffre.

Exemple 1
Ancien ISBN à 10 chiffres et code à barres
Un ISBN à 10 chiffres avec un code à barre est illustré ci-dessous. Le numéro de code à barres EAN, au bas des bandes lisibles par une machine, est différent de l'ISBN à 10 chiffres placé au dessus du code à barres.

Ancien ISBN à 10 chiffres et code à barres

EAN = EAN
Group = identificateur de groupe
Publisher = préfixe de l'éditeur
Title = identificateur de titre
Check digit = chiffre de contrôle


Exemple 2
Nouvel ISBN à 13 chiffres et code à barres
Dans le cas d'un ISBN à 13 chiffres, le code de produit EAN "978" précède l'ISBN à 10 chiffres et le chiffre de contrôle (ou le dernier chiffre) est recalculé. Le nouvel ISBN est le même que le numéro du code à barres EAN-UCC qui apparaît en dessous du code à barres avec des traits d'union

Nouvel ISBN à 13 chiffres et code à barres

3.   L'ISBN à 13 chiffres exige-t-il un code à barres plus long?
Non. L'ISBN à 13 chiffres exige un code à barres de 13 chiffres (avec ou sans l'ajout du code de prix à cinq chiffres) tout comme l'ISBN à 10 chiffres. Avec le nouvel ISBN, l'ISBN-13 et les chiffres du code EAN-UCC sont identiques. Le code EAN apparaît en dessous du code à barres, tandis que l'ISBN à 13 chiffres possède des traits d'union et apparaît au dessus du code à barres.

4.  Puis-je utiliser les deux ISBN, à 10 et à 13 chiffres, sur une publication?
Oui. Cette pratique est mieux connue sous le nom de période à "deux chiffres". Entre janvier 2005 et le 31 décembre 2006, les éditeurs pourront utiliser les deux chiffres sur leurs publications. Cependant, après le 1er janvier 2007, les publications devraient UNIQUEMENT comporter l'ISBN à 13 chiffres et le code EAN-UCC-13.

Pendant la transition :

  • Pour les livres ayant un ISBN et un code à barres EAN à 10 :
    Imprimez les deux ISBN uniquement sur la page des droits d'auteur.

  • Pour les livres sans code à barres :
    Imprimez les deux ISBN sur la page des droits d'auteur ainsi que sur la couverture arrière du livre.

  • La période à "deux chiffres" est valide seulement pour les ISBN à 13 chiffres qui commencent par « 978 ». Ces deux chiffres devraient être éliminés graduellement à partir du 1er janvier 2007.

L'Agence internationale de l'ISBN recommande le format suivant :

Exemple 3
Format du système à deux chiffres
ISBN-13 : 978-1-55457-001-0
ISBN-10 : 1-55457-001-8

5.  Le préfixe du code EAN sera-t-il toujours «978»?
Non. Le préfixe 978 du code EAN changera éventuellement. Lorsque cela se produira, les ISBN auront le préfixe "979" pour le code EAN. Les ISBN qui commenceront par le préfixe "979" ne pourront pas être produits par un programme de conversion (c.-à-d. en ajoutant le préfixe à un ISBN à 10 chiffres et en recalculant le chiffre de contrôle). Ces ISBN ne pourront pas être convertis en ISBN à 10 chiffres.

Ce changement ne vous touchera pas immédiatement.. Veuillez visiter le site Web de Bibliothèque et Archives Canada en 2007 pour avoir les mises à jour sur le préfixe "979" du code EAN.

6.  Qui sera touché par ce changement?
Tout le monde dans la chaîne de distribution du commerce des livres. Bien que les éditeurs, les distributeurs, les détaillants et les bibliothèques correspondent aux principaux groupes visés par ces changements, toutes les personnes dans la chaîne de distribution du commerce des livres qui utilisent un ISBN sont touchées par ce changement. Toutes les personnes qui enregistrent, stockent ou échangent des données ISBN dans un système informatique ou dans un système manuel devront s'assurer que ces systèmes sont compatibles au format de ISBN à 13 chiffres.

7.  Qu'est-ce qui est touché par ce changement?
Tous les systèmes, manuels et électroniques, qui acceptent un ISBN. Toutes les organisations qui utilisent un ISBN, sous toute forme de capacité, devraient examiner leurs systèmes existants, manuels et électroniques, le plus tôt possible afin de s'assurer que ces systèmes sont compatibles avec le nouvel ISBN à 13 chiffres.

Les ISBN à 13 chiffres toucheront les applications logicielles telles que les systèmes de commande informatisés, les systèmes de contrôle des stocks, les systèmes des points de vente et les bases de données des bibliothèques. Si vous utilisez un système clé en main, vous devriez communiquer avec le vendeur afin de vous assurer qu'ils sont prêts pour les ISBN à 13 chiffres. Si vous utilisez un système élaboré ou personnalisé à l'interne, vous devriez informer le personnel des technologies de l'information (TI) que les ISBN seront modifiés en un nouveau format de 13 chiffres et leur demander de vérifier le système automatisé et d'effectuer les changements nécessaires. Les systèmes devront éventuellement accepter les deux préfixes différents pour le code EAN (978 au début de 2007 et 979 qui suivra éventuellement).

Bien que les changements touchent principalement les ordinateurs et les autres systèmes informatiques, ils touchent également les processus de rédaction, les ventes et le marketing, les services de conception et de production, les droits d'auteur et les fonctions comptables ainsi que les systèmes de catalogage. On encourage les organisations qui apportent des changements aux systèmes pour traiter l'ISBN-13 à anticiper les besoins futurs afin d'adapter (stocker, voir et échanger) tous les identificateurs de code de produit EAN-UCC qui peuvent comporter jusqu'à 14 chiffres.

Les libraires devront vérifier ce qui suit :

  • les systèmes de commande;
  • le contrôle des stocks;
  • les systèmes des points de vente;
  • les systèmes de comptabilité.

Les bibliothèques devront vérifier ce qui suit :

  • les systèmes d'acquisition, incluant les messages de transaction avec les partenaires commerciaux;
  • les systèmes de catalogage et les autres systèmes de saisie de données bibliographiques;
  • les systèmes de prêt entre bibliothèques;
  • les routines du système pour importer les fiches bibliographiques, incluant les algorithmes d'adaptation;
  • les lecteurs de codes à barres;
  • les catalogues locaux et les catalogues publics en ligne;
  • les portails d'information et les systèmes de métarecherches;
  • l'interopérabilité et les liens entre les systèmes avec les sources d'information et des clients à distance.

8.  Comment les éditeurs peuvent-ils se préparer?
Tous les éditeurs devraient revoir et entreprendre les étapes énumérées ci-dessus le plus tôt possible.

Les éditeurs devraient également examiner les points suivants, entres autres :

  • les fonctions de demande et d'attribution des ISBN;
  • les fiches de renseignements sur le produit;
  • la direction de la rédaction;
  • les présentations de catalogage avant publication;
  • les systèmes de production;
  • les systèmes de distribution de livres électroniques;
  • les systèmes de gestion des commandes;
  • les systèmes de gestion d'entrepôt et d'administration des stocks;
  • les droits et les contrats;
  • les droits d'auteur et les systèmes de comptabilité.

9.  Devra-t-on attribuer le nouvel ISBN aux produits déjà publiés?
Non. Les éditeurs devraient convertir les ISBN existants, dès le 1er janvier 2007, du format à 10 chiffres au format à 13 chiffres (ayant le préfixe 978). Cela s'applique à tous les titres en circulation, qui peuvent faire l'objet de transactions commerciales, c'est-à-dire aussi bien aux titres épuisés qu'à ceux qui se trouvent encore dans les catalogues des éditeurs.

Le numéro ISBN et le code à barres sur les livres existants ne devront pas être modifiés jusqu'à ce que le livre soit imprimé à nouveau puisque le code à barres représente déjà l'EAN 13 qui est identique au nouvel ISBN à 13 chiffres.

10.  Comment les éditeurs peuvent-ils obtenir le nouvel ISBN à 13 chiffres?
Les éditeurs canadiens (à l'exception des éditeurs de langue française du Québec ou à l'extérieur du Québec) peuvent demander des ISBN auprès de l'Agence canadienne de l'ISBN de Bibliothèque et Archives Canada. En ce qui concerne les éditeurs de langue française situés au Québec ou à l'extérieur du Québec, ils peuvent demander des ISBN auprès de Bibliothèque et Archives nationales du Québec.

Les Éditions et Services de dépôt (Travaux publics et Services gouvernementaux Canada) ont délégué leur pouvoir d'attribuer des ISBN pour les publications produites par les ministères et organismes du gouvernement du Canada. Les membres du personnel responsables de l'édition dans ces ministères et organismes peuvent ainsi désormais soumettre en ligne leurs demandes d’ISBN à http://publications.gc.ca/site/fra/accueil.html.

  • Éditeurs enregistrés ayant 10 ISBN
    Après le 1er janvier 2007, l'Agence canadienne de l'ISBN attribuera des ISBN à 13 chiffres aux éditeurs enregistrés ayant 10 ISBN.
  • Éditeurs enregistrés ayant 100 ISBN et plus
    Les éditeurs enregistrés qui ont reçu 100 numéros ISBN ou plus, et qui ont reçu un registre papier ou électronique des numéros ISBN de l'Agence canadienne de l'ISBN, doivent convertir leurs numéros ISBN à 10 chiffres restants en numéros ISBN à 13 chiffres, commençant par 978, à l'aide d'un programme de conversion en direct. Veuillez visiter le site Web de l'Agence internationale de l'ISBN à l'adresse suivante :
    www.isbn-international.org/converter/converter.html?lang=fr.
  • Nouveaux éditeurs
    À partir du 1er janvier 2007, tous les nouveaux éditeurs qui présenteront une demande de bloc de numéros ISBN auprès de l'Agence canadienne de l'ISBN recevront des ISBN à 13 chiffres.

11.  Comment Bibliothèque et Archives Canada s'est-elle préparée pour l'ISBN 13?

Bibliothèque et Archives Canada et l'Agence canadienne de l'ISBN informent tous les éditeurs canadiens de ce changement important. De plus, nous avons mis à niveau tous les systèmes de catalogage et de technologies de l'information afin d'être en mesure de traiter les ISBN à 10 chiffres et ceux à 13 chiffres. Ces changements permettront de réduire au minimum les difficultés lors de l'acceptation et du catalogage des publications ayant des ISBN à 13 chiffres.

Précédent | Table des matières | Suivant